Barclays Singapore Open Championship

Dates: Jan 19 - 22, 2017
Location: Sentosa Golf Club, Singapore
Course: Serapong
Purse: $1,000,000
Format: Stroke play

Sentosa, Singapore, January 22: Thailand’s Prayad Marksaeng received his early birthday present when he eclipsed his younger rivals with a final round four-under-par 67 to lift his 10th Asian Tour title at the SMBC Singapore Open on Sunday.

Prayad’s closing birdie on 18 proved decisive as it gave him a one-shot advantage and also the clubhouse lead while the rest of the field were still out at the Sentosa Golf Club trying to pip him to the title.

Prayad, who turns 51 on January 30, was eventually crowned the newest SMBC Singapore Open champion after a two-hour wait as no one in the chasing pack was able to surmount their challenge and better his four-day total of nine-under-par 275.

Thailand’s Phachara Khongwatmai, South Africa’s Jbe Kruger, Philippines Juvic Pagunsan and defending champion Younghan Song of Korea all had their chances to pip or at least force a play-off with Prayad but that crucial putt in their closing holes simply eluded all of them.

The quartet all finished one shot back of Prayad and shared second place with their 276 total. World number seven Adam Scott had a round to forget as he signed off with a 74 to finish tied for ninth while Singapore’s Quincy Quek emerged as the best placed Singaporean in tied-26th place.

Tournament Info.
Location: Singapore
Established: 1961
Course(s): Sentosa Golf Club (Serapong course)
Par: 71
Length: 7,372 yards (6,741 m)
Tour(s): Asian Tour Japan Golf Tour
Format: Stroke play
Minimun Prize Purse: US$1,000,000
Month played: January

2017 Barclays Singapore Open Results

Pos Player Country Rounds Total
1 Marksaeng, Prayad Thailand 71 / 69 / 68/ 67 272
T2 Khongwatmai, Phachara Thailand 62 / 72 / 67 / 71 276
T2 Kruger, Jbe South Africa 68 / 69 / 70 / 69  276
T2 Pagunsan, Juvic Philippines 71 / 66 / 69 / 70 276
T2 Song, Younghan South Korea 68 / 69 / 67 / 69 276


2016 Song, Young South Korea
2015 Kim Kyung-tae South Korea
2014 Koumei Oda Japan
2013 Hideki Matsuyama JApan
2012 Matteo Manassero Italy
2011 Gonzalo Fernández-Castaño Spain
2010 Adam Scott Australia
2009 Ian Poulter  England
2008 Jeev Milkha Singh India
2007 Ángel Cabrera Argentina
2006 Adam Scott Australia
2005 Adam Scott Australia
2001 Thaworn Wiratchant Thailand

To get started, simply join Sportbet online, visit our bonus page. Review the sportsbook golf betting rules.

Get into all the Barclays Singapore Odds!!!