Dates: September 20 - 24, 2017
Location: Atlanta, GA
Course: East Lake Golf Club
Purse: $8,500,000
Winning Share: $1,530,000

The Tour Championship is a golf tournament that is part of the PGA Tour. It has historically been one of the final events of the PGA Tour season; prior to 2007, its field consisted exclusively of the top 30 money leaders of the past PGA Tour season.

Since 2007, it has been the final event of the four-tournament FedEx Cup playoff, and eligibility is determined by FedEx Cup points amassed throughout the season instead. While originally followed by the PGA Tour Fall Series (for those competing for qualifying exemptions in the following season), a re-alignment of the PGA Tour's season structure beginning in 2013 makes the Tour Championship the final event of the s0eason.

From 1987 to 1996, several courses hosted the event. Beginning in 1997, the event alternated between Champions Golf Club in Houston and East Lake Golf Club in Atlanta; since 2004, East Lake has been the event's permanent home.

In 2007, the Tour Championship moved from its November date to a date in mid-September, where it ends a four-tournament "Chase for the FedEx Cup"; this was announced on the Wednesday of the week of the 2005 event. As in past years, 30 players qualify for the event, however the basis for qualification is no longer prize money. Instead, FedEx Cup points amassed during the regular PGA Tour season and then during the three preceding playoff events determine the participants. Beginning in 2009, the assignment and awarding of points assures that if any of the top five FedEx Cup point leaders going into The Tour Championship win the event, they will also win the FedEx Cup. It still remains possible, however, for one player to win the Tour Championship and another player to win the FedEx Cup. In 2007, Tiger Woods won both the 2007 Tour Championship and the inaugural FedEx Cup. In 2008, The Tour Championship was won by Camilo Villegas, while Vijay Singh won the FedEx Cup. In 2009, Phil Mickelson won The Tour Championship, while Tiger Woods won the FedEx Cup.

2007 was also the inaugural year for the Tour's Fall Series, which determined the rest of the top 125 players eligible for the following year's FedEx Cup, which made the event no longer the final tournament of the season. However, starting in 2013, the Tour Championship was the end of the PGA Tour season; seasons will now begin in October of the previous calendar year. Since 2007, those who qualified for the Tour Championship earned a Masters Tournament invitation.

Hole 18 at East Lake Golf Club is a par 3, which has been criticized as lacking drama for fans. The PGA Tour announced in February 2016 that it would be reversing the nines at East Lake for the Tour Championship in the coming year so that play will finish on a more exciting par 5 hole.



2017 The Tour Championship Schedule

Wednesday, September 20
Practice Round -- Belk Community Day
Gates open at 9:00am
Will Call Hours -- 9:00am-5:00pm
Thursday, September 21
First Championship Round -- Military Appreciation Day
Gates Open 9:00 a.m.
Will Call Hours -- 9:00am-6:00pm
Opening Ceremonies at 10:30am | 1st Tee
Tee times begin at approximately 11:45am
Friday, September 22
Second Championship Round
Gates Open 9:00 a.m.
Will Call Hours -- 9:00am-6:00pm
Tee times begin at approximately 11:45am
Saturday, September 23
Third Championship Round
Gates open at 8:00am
Will Call Hours -- 8:00am-6:00pm
Tee times begin at approximately 9:10am
Music After Play with Yacht Rock Revue at 3:45pm | Located in the SO Cool Zone
Sunday, September 24
Final Championship Round -- Golf's Biggest Finish
Gates open at 9:00am
Will Call Hours -- 9:00am-6:00pm
Tee times begin at approximately 11:45am
Closing Ceremony with trophy presentation at the conclusion of play | Located at the 18th green.

2017 The Tour Championship Results

Pos Player Total R1 R2 R3 R4 Strokes
1 Xander Schauffele -12 69 66 65 68 268
2 Justin Thomas -11 67 66 70 66 269
T3 Russell Henley -10 67 71 67 65 270
T3 Kevin Kisner -10 68 68 64 70 270
5 Paul Casey -9 66 67 65 73 271

Past Winners

Year Winner Score Purse
2017 Xander Schauffele 268 $8,500,000
2016 Rory McIlroy 268 $8,500,000
2015 Jordan Spieth 271 $8,250,000
2014 Billy Horschel 269 $8,000,000
2013 Henrik Stenson 267 $8,000,000
2012 Brandt Snedeker 270 $8,000,000
2011 Bill Haas 272 $8,000,000
2010 Jim Furyk 272 $7,500,000
2009 Phil Mickelson 271 $7,500,000
2008 Camilo Villegas 273 $7,000,000

To get started, simply join Sportbet online, review our bonus page and select your deposit method. Get into all the The Tour Championship Odds!!!

Golf Betting Rules