The Open Championship Golf Betting

Dates: 16th-23rd July 2017
Location: Southport, England
Course: Royal Birkdale Golf Club
Length: 7,156 yards (6,543 m)
Prize fund: $10,250,000

The 146th Open Golf Championship will be played at Royal Liverpool Golf Club, Southport, England from the 16th-23rd July 2017. The course was first established in 1889, but was extensively redesigned in 1922 by Fred Hawtree and JH Taylor to create the current layout, which winds its way through the sand dunes towering over each of the fairways.

Since first hosting The Open in 1954, the course has been (alongside Royal Lytham) the most regular venue for the Championship other than St Andrews. At Birkdale’s first Open, Peter Thomson won the first of three in succession; he returned to the same course in 1965 to add his fifth and final title.

Past Open champions at Royal Troon include Justin Leonard, Mark Calcavecchia, Tom Watson, Tom Weiskopf, Arnold Palmer, Bobby Locke, and Arthur Havers. The last six Opens at Troon have been won by Americans.

Royal Troon is home to both the longest and shortest holes in Open Championship golf. Regarded as one of the top holes in the world, the par-3 8th hole ("Postage Stamp") measures a scant 123 yards (112 m), but its diminutive green measures a mere 420 square feet (39 m2). Two holes earlier, the par-5 6th ("Turnberry") extends to a lengthy 601 yards (550 m).



2017 TV Schedule

Thursday, July 20
1:30 a.m.-4 p.m. on Golf Channel
Friday, July 21
1:30 am - 4 pm on Golf Channel
Saturday, July 22
4:30 am - 7 am on Golf Channel
4:30 pm - 6 pm on NBC
Sunday, July 23
4 am - 7 am on Golf Channel
7 am -2 pm on NBC

2017 British Open Results

1 SPIETH, Jordan -12 65 69 65 69 268
2 KUCHAR, Matt -9 65 71 66 69 271
3 LI, Haotong -6 69 73 69 63 274
T4 MCILROY, Rory -3 71 68 69 67 275
T4 CABRERA-BELLO, Rafael -2 67 73 67 68 275


Year Country Champion Course Location Total score To par
2017 USA Jordan Spieth Royal Birkdale Golf Club Southport, England 268 -12
2016 Sweden Henrik Stenson Royal Troon Troon, Scotland 264 -20
2015 United States Zach Johnson St. Andrews St Andrews, Scotland 273 -15
2014 Northern Ireland Rory McIlroy Royal Liverpool Hoylake, England 271 -17
2013 United States Phil Mickelson Muirfield Gullane, Scotland 281 -3
2012 South Africa Ernie Els Royal Lytham & St Annes Lytham St Annes, England 273 -7


Future Venues
2018 Carnoustie
2019 Royal Portrush
2020 Royal St George's
2012 Muirfield


Sportbet offers a range of 2017 The Open Championship Golf betting odds. Betting golf is fun and often profitable since you can place wagers on individual golfers. Check out the odds on our The Open Championship Golf Futures. Sportbet offers golf odds on everything from the tournament winner to the number of hole-in-ones.

Each week there will be a fairly comprehensive listing of the matchups and golf betting lines offered bySportbet on the different tour events.