Belmont Stakes Betting

Date: June 20, 2020
Location: Belmont Park Elmont, New York, U.S.
Distance: 1 1⁄8 mi (9 furlongs; 1,811 m)
Surface: Dirt
Purse: $1,000,000.00

The 2020 Belmont Stakes will be the 152nd running of the Belmont Stakes and the 109th time the event will take place at Belmont Park. The race is one of the three legs of the American Triple Crown, open to three-year-old Thoroughbreds.

Because of the COVID-19 pandemic, the race which is normally the last Triple Crown race of the season will be first and has been run at 1 1⁄2 miles (12 furlongs) since 1926, will be run at 1 1⁄8 miles (9 furlongs).

his year’s edition of the race will be 1 1/8-miles (9 furlongs) instead of its traditional 1 1/2-miles. There will be no spectators.

“The 152nd running of the Belmont Stakes will be run at a distance of 1 1/8-miles to properly account for the schedule adjustments to the Triple Crown series and overall calendar for 3-year-olds in training,” the New York Racing Association said in a statement.

NBC Sports will broadcast the 152nd Belmont Stakes on June 6 from 3-6 p.m. ET on NBC, and the NBC Sports app.

The Belmont is now the first race in the Triple Crown this year. On March 17, the Kentucky Derby was moved from May 2 to September 5, marking only the third time in history that the race hasn’t been run during the month of May.

“We believe that moving our iconic event to Labor Day Weekend this year will enable our country to have time to contain the spread of coronavirus,” Churchill Downs Inc. CEO Bill Carstanjen said. “This will also provide our guests more time to reschedule their travel and hotel arrangements so they can attend.”

The Preakness was moved from May 16 to October 3, making it the final leg of this year’s Triple Crown.

Traditionally, the Belmont was the longest of the Triple Crown races and has been run at 1 1/2-miles since 1926. The Belmont is usually the final leg of the Triple Crown, following the Kentucky Derby and the Preakness Stakes. The order of the Triple Crown races used to vary before 1931, but this is the first time that the Belmont will be the first race in the series.



2020 Belmont Stakes Schedule

The 2020 Belmont Stakes will take place June 20, 2020, the New York Racing Association. After the Kentucky Derby and Preakness Stakes rescheduled their events for Sept. 5 and Oct. 3, respectively, this year will mark the first time that Belmont will be the first leg of the Triple Crown.
Date: Saturday, June 20
Time: 3 p.m. ET
TV channel: NBC
Triple Crown schedule 2020
Race Date Time ocation
Belmont Stakes Saturday, June 20 3 p.m. ET Elmont, New York
Kentucky Derby Saturday, Sept. 5 2:30 p.m. ET Louisville, Kentucky
Preakness Stakes Saturday, Oct. 3 4:30 p.m. ET Baltimore, Maryland


Belmont Stakes 2019 Results

Finish PP Horse Jockey Trainer Recorddagger Morning
line odds
Final odds Margin
1 7 Sir Winston Joel Rosario Mark E. Casse 9–2–1–1 12–1 10.20 $800,000
2 10 Tacitus Jose Ortiz William I. Mott 5–3–0–1 9–5 1.95 1 $280,000
3 1 Joevia Jose Lezcano Greg Sacco 5–2–2–0 30–1 21.60 ​4 3⁄4 $150,000
4 4 Tax Irad Ortiz Jr. Danny Gargan 6–2–2–1 15–1 11.70 ​5 3⁄4 $100,000
5 3 Master Fencer Julien Leparoux Koichi Tsunoda 7–2–2–0 8–1 13.30 ​5 3⁄4 $60,000
6 6 Spinoff Javier Castellano Todd Pletcher 5–2–1–1 15–1 10.40 6 $45,000
7 2 Everfast Luis Saez Dale Romans 11–1–2–1 12–1 16.50 6 $35,000
8 8 Intrepid Heart John R. Velazquez Todd Pletcher 3–2–0–1 10–1 6.90 ​7 3⁄4 $30,000
9 9 War of Will Tyler Gaffalione Mark E. Casse 10–4–1–1 2–1 3.65 10
10 5 Bourbon War Mike E. Smith Mark Hennig 6–2–1–0 12–1 10.00 ​14 3⁄4


Past Winners

Year Winner Jockey Trainer Owner Time
2019 Sir Winston Joel Rosario Mark E. Casse Tracy Farmer 2:28.30
2018 Justify Mike E. Smith Bob Baffert China Horse Club, Head of Plains Partners, Starlight Racing & WinStar Farm 2:28.18
2017 Tapwrit Jose Ortiz Todd Pletcher Bridlewood Farm, Eclipse Thoroughbred Partners, Robert V. LaPenta 02:30.02
2016 Creator Irad Ortiz Jr. Steven Asmussen Bobby Flay 2:28.51
2015 American Pharoah Victor Espinoza Bob Baffert Zayat Stables 02:26.65


Belmont Stakes Winners Who Are Also Kentucky Derby Winner
1995 Thunder Gulch 1978 Affirmed (Triple Crown)
1984 Swale 1977 Seattle Slew (Triple Crown)
1976 Bold Forbes 1973 Secretariat (Triple Crown)
1972 Riva Ridge
Belmont Stakes Winners Who Are Also Preakness Stakes Winners
1994 Tabasco Cat 1978 Affirmed (Triple Crown)
1991 Hansel 1977 Seattle Slew (Triple Crown)
1988 Risen Star 1973 Secretariat (Triple Crown)
1974 Little Current
Kentucky Derby Winners Who Are Also Belmont Stakes Winners
2004 Smarty Jones 1987 Alysheba
2003 Funny Cide 1979 Spectacular Bid
2002 War Emblem 1978 Affirmed (Triple Crown)
1999 Charismatic 1977 Seattle Slew (Triple Crown)
1998 Real Quiet 1973 Secretariat (Triple Crown)
1997 Silver Charm 1971 Canonero II
1989 Sunday Silence


Belmont Stakes betting has never been easier, whether you want to bet a horse straight to win or in an exacta bet.

Bet on Belmont Stakes futures and proposition bets, too. Choose a extra Box or just bet on the Ponies straight to win.

Get into the 2020 Belmont Stakes Betting action and place a bet on one of the many horses betting options at Sportbet

Check out our incredible Belmont Stake Bonuses too!!