2016 Breeders’ Cup Classic Win/Place/Show Picks

Early 2014 Belmont Stakes Odds

If you’re getting primed for the rapidly-approaching 2014 Belmont Stakes and you want to get a smart start on your wagering for the third and final leg of the annual Triple Crown, then this betting breakdown of the latest odds surrounding 146th running of the Belmont Stakes is just what the doctor ordered.

2014 Belmont Stakes
The 2014 Belmont Stakes at Belmont Park in Elmont, New York is the third leg of the Triple Crown and is must see event for all sports fans.
Starts: 06/07/2014 3:00PM
Belmont Park, 2150 Hempstead Turnpike
ElmontNew York

Early 2014 Belmont Stakes Betting Odds

  • California Chrome -115
  • Ride On Curlin +500
  • Commanding Curve +1200
  • Tonalist +1200
  • Wicked Strong +1200
  • Samraat +2500
  • Social Inclusion +3000
  • Commissioner +3500
  • Intense Holiday +3500
  • Kid Cruz +5000

You see, while superstar thoroughbred California Chrome is the clear-cut favorite to win this race and become the first Triple Crown winner since Affirmed last pulled off the nearly impossible feat way back in 1978, he will apparently have his work cut out for him, seeing as how four other horses this millennium alone have all headed into the Belmont Stakes with a chance to win the Triple Crown – before falling short of their quest for immortality.

Let’s take a brief look at the mounts that could potentially challenge California Chrome while providing a bit of Belmont Stakes history.

California Chrome won the Kentucky Derby in absolutely commanding fashion by beating out second place Commanding Curve and third place Danza in the process.

Chrome (we might as well give him one name like all the greats) then went on to win the Preakness by holding off a hard-charging Ride on Curlin and third place finisher Social Inclusion and now, he sits on the precipice of immortality. However, California Chrome will have to hold off some of its usual challengers.

Ride on Curlin finished seventh in the Kentucky derby and second in the Preakness, so he could potentially provide the biggest threat, especially seeing as ho he nearly ran down Chrome at the Preakness.

Commanding Curve, Danza, Wicked Strong and Samraat are all other contenders that have something in common heading into the Belmont Stakes – and that is the fact that all four thoroughbreds are well-rested after not competing in the Preakness Stakes. Five weeks of rest could very well mean the difference between winning and losing the longest leg of the Triple Crown.

Sure, California Chrome is the clear-cut favorite, but horse racing gamblers have seen this act before from several other noted horses and none have come through since Affirmed in 1978.

One thing’s for sure, this year’s Belmont Stakes is must-see TV.

Now, here’s a bit of Belmont Stakes history.

Belmont Park Fast Facts

  • Main Course:  1 1/2 Miles 
  • Last Turn to Finish on Main Track:  1,097 feet 
  • Widener Turf Course:  1 5/16 Miles 
  • Inner Turf Course:  1 3/16 Miles 
  • Attendance Capacity:  85,000 – 90,000 
  • Parking Capacity:  18,500 Cars 
  • Trackside Dining:  2,300 
  • Total Seating Capacity:  32,941

The first thing that horse racing betting aficionados should know about the Belmont Stakes – and the thing that makes it so unique – is the fact that it’s the longest thoroughbred race track in the United States, making it the most arduous and demanding leg of the Triple Crown.

Here is a look at the thoroughbreds that have failed to win the Triple Crown this millennium because of a loss in the Belmont Stakes. Overall, there have been a dozen horses that have won both the Kentucky Derby and Preakness but failed to win the Belmont Stakes since Affirmed did it back in 1978.

  • War Emblem (2002): finished eighth to Sarava
  • Funny Cide (2003): finished third to Empire Maker
  • Smarty Jones (2004): finished second to Birdstone
  • Big Brown (2008): Did Not Finish to Da’ Tara

Did You Know?

That the Belmont Stakes changed its distance several times prior to 1926? The famed race was run at a mile and five furlongs from 1867 to 1873, a mile and a quarter in 1890-92, 1895, 1904 and 1905; a mile and a furlong in 1893 and 1894; a mile and three furlongs from 1896 to 1903 and from 1906 to 1925. The current distance of a mile and half was established in 1926.

In 1993, Julie Krone became the first female jockey to ever win a Triple Crown race, when she guided Colonial Affair to victory. The Belmont Stakes was run at Jerome Park from l867 to l889; at Morris Park from l890 to l904; at Aqueduct from l963 to l967 and not run at all in l9ll and l9l2.

Secretariat’s stunning 31-length victory in the 1973 Belmont Stakes established a world record time for a mile and a half (2:24) that still stands to this very day.

Twenty-six horses have been eligible to win the Triple Crown coming into the Belmont Stakes but only eleven have succeeded. A total of eleven Belmont Stakes winners have sired at least one other Belmont winner. 

Man o’ War heads the list of Belmont champion sires. Not only did he win the race himself in 1920, but three of his sires also won the Belmont Stakes including American Flag in 1925, Crusader in 1926 and War Admiral in 1937, who won the Triple Crown.