Grand Prix of Monaco

Date: May 25-28, 2017
Circuit Name: Circuit de Monaco
Number of Laps: 78
Circuit Length: 3.337 km
Distance: 260.286 km
Lap Record: 1:18,063, Daniel Ricciardo (2015)

No race or circuit of the Formula 1 Calendar can truly match the excellence, the glamour and the challenge of the Monaco Grand Prix. From Casino Square to the World's most famous Hairpin, through the tunnel and past the luxurious yachts, Monte Carlo is a circuit of legendary corners full of history.

Extremely challenging for both teams and drivers, the narrow circuit through the glamorous streets of the Principality has fuelled dreams in Motorsports for decades. The tight circuit with almost no overtaking opportunities is extremely hard to master, and for some drivers winning the Monaco Grand Prix is even more prestigious than winning the World Championship.

The Monaco Grand Prix is the one race of the year that every driver dreams of winning. Like the Indy 500 or Le Mans, it stands alone, almost distinct from the sport from which it was born. A combination of precision driving, technical excellence and sheer bravery is required to win in Monte Carlo, facets which highlight the differences between the great and the good in Formula One.

The Armco barrier-lined circuit leaves no margin for error, demanding more concentration that any other Formula One track. Cars run with maximum downforce and brakes are worked hard. Overtaking is next to impossible so qualifying in Monaco is more critical than at any other Grand Prix.

The Portier corner is key to achieving a good lap time around Monaco. It is preceded by the Loews hairpin, the slowest corner in Formula One, and followed by the tunnel, one of the few flat-out sections of the track. Some great names have ended their races in the barriers here, most notably Ayrton Senna and Michael Schumacher.

To win in Monaco places a driver's name on a list that includes many of history's all-time greats.

Both Graham Hill, the man nicknamed 'Mr Monaco', and Schumacher have won it five times, Alain Prost took four victories, whilst Stirling Moss and Jackie Stewart each won here three times. But the record of wins in the Principality resides with the Senna, who won in Monte Carlo six times.

2017 Grand Prix of Monaco Schedule

Thuesday 25th May
Practice 1 10:00 - 11:30
GP2 Series Practice 12:00 - 12:45
Practice 2 14:00 - 15:30
Qualifying Session (Group A) 16:15 - 16:31
Qualifying Session (Group B) 16:39 - 16:55
Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup Practice 17:30 - 18:15
Friday 26st May
Renault Series 2.0 Practice 08:00 - 08:45
Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup Qualifying 09:45 - 10:15
GP2 Series First Race 11:15 - 12:20
Saturday 27st May
Team Pit Stop Practice 08:00 - 08:30
Paddock Club Pit Lane Walk 08:00 - 08:30
Renault Series 2.0 Qualifying 09:00 - 09:55
Practice 3 11:00 - 12:00
Qualifying 14:00
GP2 Series Second Race 16:10 - 17:00
Sunday 28st May
Porsche Mobil 1 Supercup Race 09:45 - 10:20
Renault Series 2.0 Race 11:10 - 11:40
Drivers Track Parade 12:30
Starting Grid Presentation 12:45 - 13:15
National Anthem 13:46
Grand Prix (78 Laps) 14:00

2017 Monaco Grand Prix Results

1 Sebastian Vettel Germany Ferrari 1:44.44 25
2 Kimi Räikkönen Finland Ferrari +3.145 18
3 Daniel Ricciardo Australia Red Bull Racing-TAG Heuer +3.745 15
4 Valtteri Bottas Finland Mercedes +5.517 12
5 Max Verstappen Holland Red Bull Racing-TAG Heuer +6.199 10

Past Winners

Year Driver Constructor
2017 Sebastian Vettel Ferrari
2016 Lewis Hamilton Mercedes
2015 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2014 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2013 Nico Rosberg Mercedes
2012 Mark Webber Renault
2011 Sebastian Vettel Red Bull
2010 Mark Webber Red Bull-Renault
2009 Jenson Button Brawn-Mercedes
2008 Lewis Hamilton McLaren-Mercedes

Check out the odds on our Auto Racing Lines and Odds. Sign up with Sportbet and recieve Auto Racing Lines and Odds on everything from the Motor Racing Odds.

Each week there will be a fairly comprehensive listing of betting lines offered by Sportbet on the different Formula One Races.